A Waitress at a Restaurant Gave Me a Compliment That I Really Needed

Her kindness reaffirmed my decision to do what’s right for me

Melissa Marietta
Modern Women

--

Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

Her name was Charlotte.

She was 21. Maybe.

She asked if we’d like a drink menu. Mom answered no for us and I responded yes.

Her hair was blonde and cut to her chin. She smiled at me as she filled my water glass. She smiled as she said she’d be taking care of us this evening. Her eyes glanced several times at my head. I asked for chardonnay and she shyly told me she liked how I styled my hair.

I leaned toward her. “Do you know my secret?” I whispered, brushing my hand across the top of my head, feeling both of the barrettes I’d carefully clipped in.

Her eyes enlarged. Mom eyed me quizzically. “No!” Charlotte replied. “I don’t.”

“Really?” I was certain she was leading me on. My hand moved its way down to the ends of my blonde bob.

I smiled. “It’s a wig.”

“No way!” To my delight, Charlotte replied with enthusiasm. “It looks so good!”

I was used to second glances at my tresses, the guess whether or not I’m wearing a wig game. There’s something…

--

--

Melissa Marietta
Modern Women

I am witty, sarcastic, and always honest. Top Writer in Parenting & Feminism. Marriage | Relationships| Mental Health| Humor| Body Image| Disability