An eye for an eye (Part 3)

A shoulder to cry on

Faina Galina
Modern Women
5 min readJul 20, 2024

--

Stella Pov

Ethan just recovered Carla’s information in fifteen minutes, leaving her stunned and me in awe of his skills.

“It’s done. I also saved everything in multiple files in case something went wrong again.”

He pushed the laptop towards Carla, stood up, and put his hands in his jeans’ pockets. It was the norm every time he stood up. He was wearing a casual white shirt and blue jeans.

His basic clothes, combined with his cerebral air, enhanced his attractiveness.

Carla was staring at him with a stunned expression on her face, unable to believe she had just received her thesis back. She stood and attacked him with a hug, surprising me with a little rigidity.

Ethan likewise stood awkwardly in Carla’s embrace and then looked directly at me with an expression of puzzlement, which relieved me that it was only an act of appreciation Carla was giving because she was still in astonishment.

She backed aside and said to him:

“Thank you, I owe it to you, Ethan.”

Her tone was filled with gratitude, and Ethan shrugged.

“No need, I just did it because of my girlfriend.”

Isn’t he the best boyfriend I’ve had?

Carla spun around to look at me, then smiled broader.

“I know! She’s top-notch. Okay, I need to go print this piece before it gets too late. Stella, I’ll meet you in the classroom. See you later, Ethan.”

She grabbed her laptop and belongings and walked in the opposite direction. Leaving me and Ethan alone.

Ethan chuckled and moved closer to me.

“So she’s your affluent friend Carla?”

I nodded, smiling.

“She’s a bit dramatic, I must admit, but thank you again, Eth. It means a lot. If you hadn’t arrived on time, things might have turned out badly for my friend, and you know I can’t see those who are dear to me like way.”

Ethan, as always, rolled his eyes, put his palms on my face, and whispered,

“Now you are the one who is being dramatic. Stell, I’d do anything for you.It was nothing.”

“Except for not starting a job that you’re getting.”

I teased him this time. Ethan scowled at me but said nothing, instead kissing me and saying,

“Let’s meet tomorrow, I’ll take you somewhere else.”

In response, I smiled.

“Sure. “I love you, Ethan.”

“I love you too, Stell.”

“Finally, the thesis had been submitted. It became possible thanks to your guy. I had no idea I’d been your best friend for months and now I know he’s your boyfriend, and he’s quite gorgeous. Where did you find him?”

Carla and I were leaving for university. We were heading to the spa for relaxation at Carla’s request, despite my hesitations because I couldn’t afford it, but Carla refused to listen to me, saying she owed me and Ethan’s appreciation and would reimburse Ethan later on. She’s a very stubborn girl.

I shrugged at her query.

“I didn’t realize I should have mentioned him to you, but you’re correct; you’re familiar with my family. You should have known about Ethan. He is also an important person in my life.”

Carla stared at me, puzzled.

“Girl! If I had someone like him. I would have talked about him with everyone all day. Not only is he a genius, but he also has a million-dollar face.”

I giggled when she described Ethan like that.

“No doubt and he’s quite aware of that which is creating a problem for us.”

I let out a sigh after I said that. We were now sitting in the backseat of Carla’s Mercedes as her driver began the drive after Carla instructed him to drop us off at the Stobo castle.

“What exactly do you mean by the problems? Is everything fine between you two?”

I didn’t want to share our situation, particularly Ethan’s, with Carla, but I needed to express my emotions to someone who could at least listen to me, and I only had Carla as a friend.

My parents already had enough on their plates. Then I told her everything, even how Ethan was not ready to start an occupation that would at least aid his mother, who was already working two jobs to meet the bills.

Ethan’s father died when he was twelve. His mother provided everything for him, and he isn’t even repaying the favor by sharing the weight. She didn’t complain to him or me, but I could tell it was bothering her.

She was concerned for his future. I, on the other hand, worried about our future because it was with Ethan. I can’t imagine spending my life with anyone other than Ethan.

“And now he’s getting a job, but he’s not ready because it’s insufficient for him. I’m not sure what to do with him. The world does not operate in your favour. You just need to go with the flow. It’s been so long that he has to compromise.”

Carla was calmly listening to me after I finished talking, she put her hand on mine.

“Leave everything to me, can you send me his CV without telling him?”

This time, I was astounded by what she said.

“No, Carla, I did not inform you so you could help us. I was just letting my feelings out so they wouldn’t bother me.”

But Carla brushes her hand as an indication that she won’t listen to me.

“And I told you that I owe Ethan as well. Allow me to help you. Stella, what’s the point of friendship? It is nothing. Ethan’s job will be based on his talent. He will receive a call from Lachlan’s corporation.”

My eyes widened as I read the company’s name.

“But it’s impossible to get over there,” Ethan before told me it’s impossible to even think about applying over there.

I mean, it was. It was a prominent and emerging technology company in the United Kingdom.

Carla snorted.

“I understand! There are some unusual regulations established by the eccentric Angus Lachlan, but he’ll choose him based on his talent, and I’m his only niece, so he must listen to me.”

“The owner of that company is your uncle?”

Carla was indeed a big deal.

“Well, calling him uncle is so weird since he’s just five years older than me and also he’s my half-maternal uncle but he treats me like a little sister and that’s what matters.”

To be continued.

--

--