An eye for an eye (Part 4)

A friend in need is a friend indeed

Faina Galina
Modern Women
6 min readJul 27, 2024

--

A PHOTO SOURCED THROUGH PINTEREST

Stella POV

After our one semester was over, we had a two-week vacation during which Carla had to travel to Spain with her parents for a business event that she didn’t want to attend but was forced to, while I stayed at home because Ethan had just gotten a job at Lachlan’s corporation (courtesy of Carla, of which Ethan was unaware).

He was ecstatic, so overjoyed that even though I felt guilty for hiding things from him, I was happy for him. We didn’t get to spend much time together because Ethan’s profession kept him so busy. One day, I called him.

“Somebody lost track of me after getting a job.”

I sounded irritated while messing with my hair strands. Ethan laughed.

“I know, love, but I haven’t. I was simply so caught up in meetings, and work hasn’t been easy for me.”

“I understand that high-paying occupations demand attention, Ethan, but it isn’t fair that you should also give me some time. Carla is also not present. I am so lonely and bored.”

“Fine. Let’s schedule a picnic. On weekends, we would go to Hyde Park.”

“But that’s in London?”

I was astounded by his unexpected plan. Our plans were normally focused on the town where we lived, not on visiting other cities, and suddenly he’s talking about London. Maybe acquiring a job changed everything for him. For us.

“So? It’s just a few miles away. We will travel by train and spend the entire day together. Just pack your belongings? And if you want to go shopping, I can transfer you some money.”

“Woah! Stop right there. There’s no need to be flamboyant, Mr. You just got the job. I’ll go shopping because it’s my first real trip with you, but I can pay for myself.”

“You stubborn aren’t you?”

Ethan sounded annoyed.

“Not more than you. Now I have to go before the center gets close. Bye.”

I hung up the phone without listening to him and went downstairs with my purse. Dad was seated in his wheelchair, watching soccer, while Mum was at home. In the open kitchen, making broth and chicken pie for dinner.

“Where are you going?”

Mom noticed me carrying a satchel while dressed in blue jeans and a lime gyspy top. My curly brown hair was tucked into a white daisy catcher, and my face was makeup-free except for an expensive lip oil gifted by Carla.

“I am going on a short shopping spree.

Ethan is taking me to London for a day.”

Mom’s brownish-gray eyes, which were identical to mine, bulged with surprise, and my father tilted his head towards me, raised his brow in query. I smiled back and proceeded to kiss my father’s cheek.

“Well, that is surprising, but it is good to hear Dear. Is he planning to propose?”

Now it was my turn to get alarmed.

“What? No, Mom. It has just been so long. He was preoccupied with work, and I complained about it to him, so he devised a quick plan. That is all.”

Mum appeared disappointed, but she didn’t express it. I know Ethan and I have been dating for five years and haven’t considered taking the next step. We encountered obstacles that did not cause us to think twice, but things are gradually improving.

Ethan just got a terrific job, and my master’s degree will be completed in fewer months. It was time to settle in, but Ethan had to think about it, not me.

I left home with the thought of it.

My mother’s voice had been pestering me about it for nearly an hour or two in the shopping centre.

Is Ethan going to propose, or should I avoid submerging myself in the land of delusions?

My mental bubble burst when someone grabbed my arm and twisted it to the side, eliciting a painful moan from me.

“Are you alright, madàme?”

His French accent caught me off guard, and I whirled when my gaze met the deep ocean-blue eyes that were looking at me with worry.

“What just happened?”

Realizing I’d been staring into his eyes for far too long, I looked around and found myself standing at the corner of the Boots entrance at Thistle’s shopping center.

“A large auto cleaning equipment was on its way… You didn’t hear the warning sounds in your surroundings, so I had to act before you were thrown to the ground.”

My cheeks flame in embarrassment.

“I’m sorry.. and thank you for saving me.”

He chuckled.

“The pleasure is all mine, but be careful next time. I will not be there to save you.”

His frankness both irked and amused me. Maybe it’s a French thing. He didn’t look like it, but his accent and the manner he addressed me indicated it.

I gave him a tiny grin, nodded without saying anything, and then walked towards the other shop. I could feel him staring behind my back, but he didn’t call again.

He may be an attractive and charming man dressed in a high-end grey suit. Showing off his blue eyes, sleek black hair, and subtle stubble on his dark sharp jawline.

But he wasn’t like my Ethan. I have a feeling he’s more Carla-like, but why was I thinking about him? Without thinking, I turned back and noticed he was out of sight. Great!

“So, how was your trip? Did you find any attractive surfers?”

Carla arrived earlier than expected while her parents were still in Spain, and she literally hauled me to her mansion, where we both agreed to spend some time in her chamber. It was more of a wing.

We were eating a variety of foods served by her staff, and intended to watch the movie on her large home theatre television.

Carla rolled her eyes, then whispered.

“There is no one I found handsome like him.”

“What?”

“Nothing, you tell me how your week went without me?”

She sat alongside me and fetched the champagne bottle from the ice bucket. I wasn’t a big drinker, but I didn’t mind having a glass of the fizzy beverage.

“Ethan and I took a short trip to London. Had an incredible day over there and returned the next day.”

Carla went rigid for a second, then smiled wider at me. She opened the bottle with the cork and laughed. I felt her chuckle was out of character.

“You always keep me in the dark about Ethan. That’s great. You needed it, but why just for one day? It is not enough, in my opinion.”

“I understand, but Ethan had only two days to prepare for his big presentation. So we had to come back, which is OK. I’m quite delighted for him. Once again, thank you, Carla. I observed Ethan being so dedicated to his work for the first time, and his mother wanted to thank you, but you warned me not to tell Ethan about it. So I had to stop her but regardless she wanted to meet you. I’ll take you there someday.”

Carla frowned at me. She gave me a flute glass full of champagne.

“Why did you inform his mother, Stella? Ethan got the job thanks to his hard effort. This is extremely disappointing.”

She even sounded displeased.

“She won’t tell anyone, but she wanted to know because she was still concerned about Ethan’s future owing to his impulsive behavior. But don’t worry, Ethan won’t know.”

“I’m forgiving you because Angus actually chose him because he performed exceptionally well in his interview. He always informs me that he is happy with his performance.”

“Okay, I’m glad. Your uncle has a hard-working employee; now, may we start watching a movie before Ethan returns from work and picks me up?”

“No, he is not picking you. You are going to spend the night with me.”

Carla eventually started the film.

“He’s going to be pissed but fine let me text him and then my mother……”

Carla grabbed my phone before I could unlock it and placed it on her side table.

“You’re not a kid anymore. Please let them know when they will call you.”

To be continued.

--

--