An eye for an eye (Part5)

A wolf in a sheep’s clothing

Faina Galina
Modern Women
6 min readJul 30, 2024

--

Photo by M. on Unsplash

Stella POV

I awoke with the worst headache of my life. Lifting my heavy body with the little strength I had despite the throbbing ache in my temple, I peered around with blurry eyes and realized this was not where I usually slept.

The bed was far too cosy, inviting me to close my eyes and fall into a deep slumber, but something felt strange, and then I looked at my body. My eyes bulged, and the haze dissipated.

I was wearing a nightgown. A lace pink nightie that exposed my body far too intimately for my taste. When I’m in my comfort zone or going to bed, I always wear my favorite PJs, shirt, or long shorts.

Ethan would freak out if he saw me like this because I had never worn a short dress in front of him, and wearing one in public was out of the question. Sure, Ethan and I had slept together despite my Catholic upbringing from my traditional Irish mother. Only I embraced her dress code, which made me feel strangely comfortable and safe.

“You’re a wake.”

I was jerked out of my mental process when I noticed Carla standing with a tray in her hand, presumably laden with breakfast, and it hit me. I slept in Carla’s mansion. Last night, I drank with her while watching a movie, which is why my head is now throbbing from a hangover because I don’t drink much.

“Yeah!”

I flinch at my hoarse voice.

“You look like a mess, but that’s fine. One should occasionally lose themselves. I brought breakfast along with meds. Hopefully, you’ll need it.”

She placed the tray on my lap, and I gazed at her. She looked fresh, as a morning person should. She wore a beige basic square neck puff sleeve A-line dress that reached her knees. Her face is covered in clean girl makeup, and her blonde hair is styled in a sleek straight bun.

“I guess alcohol only affected me drastically.”

I murmured, and she chuckled.

“Welcome to Carla’s normal. Start eating, and I’ll get you something to change into after you take a shower.”

I grab a toast and start nibbling it without putting anything in it when I ask her,

“Carla, have you changed my clothes? Because I didn’t wear this sensuous garment last night.”

Carla gave me a blank stare before smiling.

“You puked on your clothes, and I helped you change your dress, but don’t worry, I didn’t look at your beautiful physique. I’m completely straight, so please forgive me.”

I gasped not because of her final sentence, but because I was embarrassed to puke in front of her in her home.

“I apologize. That’s why I avoid drinking. It makes you chaotic and uncontrollable.”

“I understand. It can also destroy your life, yet sometimes losing control is all you need to achieve something.”

“What?”

I couldn’t understand what she was saying, but her tone caused me to question her; otherwise, I would have nodded along.

“Nothing; now stop eating bread. Try the egg benedicts and bacon, and drink some freshly squeezed lemon juice that I made for you.”

“Thanks, Carla, but as appetizing as that appears, I’m still queasy and need only crackers. Do you have that?”

Carla nodded.

“I’ll bring it over but at least have some juice and take the meds it will take away the headache you are having right now.”

I took the glass and drank a fresh glass of lime, which felt better than the toast.

Carla departed without saying anything, and I looked around for my phone to see whether Ethan or my mother had called. I didn’t tell them last night, so maybe they’re worried. I hope Carla informed them about my stay here because I was not in my right mind after three or maybe one drink.

My phone was on the bedside table. I grabbed it and checked. I had five missed calls from Ethan and one from Dad. This is strange because Dad does not phone me to enquire about my whereabouts. Mom does that. I called him before contacting Ethan, but he did not answer.

I checked the clock and it was eight a.m., and I had drinks with Carla at six yesterday. Shit! That implies I slept for about 14 hours. Dad must be sleeping now. So I called Ethan. He must be preparing for his office.

But when I called him this time, he terminated my call, which surprised me because Ethan had never cut my calls before, even when we fought. But we’re not fighting, and we haven’t for a long time.

So maybe he’s busy with something and will call me back. I texted him despite the fact that the concept was bothering me. Is he furious with me for not calling back?

“I just woke up from a hangover; I’m sorry I didn’t call you back, but you know your Stell doesn’t intentionally neglect you. Call me back when you have time. I love you.”

After texting him, I took the medication and decided to finish the meal because it wasn’t fair to waste it after my best buddy had prepared it for me. Well-prepared for me.

Two days later…

Ethan did not call me for two days. Two freaking days without him drove me crazy. I even went to his house, and his mother informed me that he had gone to Manchester for a meeting and would be remaining there for five more days, which made me suspicious.

He didn’t even bother texting me back. What kind of meeting is preventing him from taking a moment to text me back, which takes only a second? I sent him many voice notes that finally escalated into pandemonium with my yelling and swearing, which was completely out of character for me. I cried more than twice because it ached. His absence and ignorance for nothing wounded me.

When I’d had enough of sobbing I called Carla because she was the person who could assist me in this problem. I don’t understand Ethan’s behavior because he won’t be furious at me for not calling him back.

According to Carla, she called Ethan and informed him about my drunken state and that I was sleeping at her place, which Ethan agreed to. So, what is the problem?

“Hello?”

“Hello, Carla?”

“Are you free right now?” I sniffle, trying not to burst into tears again.

“Elle? Are you okay?”

Carla’s tone was filled with concern, which made my eyes well up again.

“Can you meet me?”

I heard muttering and shuffling in the background. Carla must have attended another party hosted by her parents. They returned from their trip and continued to attend events and parties. Don’t they get any rest?

“I’m pretty occupied, but could you give me an hour or two? I’ll come to your house.”

I felt horrible that she didn’t have much choice but to obey her parents’ commands.

“There is no need! I just wanted to rant, that was all. We can discuss it once you’re free.”

“Stella! Is something serious? Is your father doing okay? Ethan and you are okay? Are you sick? You’re making me nervous with that tone?”

“No, I am completely OK. It’s just that Ethan is ignoring me, and I’m not sure why. He went to Manchester for a week, so I have no idea where he is.”

I wiped away my tears, cleared my throat, and told her why I was angry.

“Damn it Ethan. Don’t worry, I’ll check on him. He must be truly too busy to ignore my pal because of my dear tyrant uncle. Otherwise, I would have kicked his arse. I still will cause he made you cry.”

This time, I felt relieved.

“Thank you, Carla. You know you are the best thing ever to happen to me after Ethan. I’m not sure what good I did that god sent me a friend like you.”

There was a pregnant gap before Carla mumbled.

“Do not say that, Ella. You do not mean that.”

“No! I honestly meant it. Thank you for relieving my anguish and tears. No one does that in this fast-paced world.”

Carla abruptly terminated my call before I could say anything else, which left me puzzled. Maybe it was a mishap. I called her again, but she didn’t answer, which upset me a little. She texted me, which calmed me down.

“Sorry! The call was cut by mistake; I will call you back once I am free of this shitshow. Do not worry, I will take care of everything.”

She actually takes care of everything by flipping my world upside down because of that day when Ethan ignored me and Carla was unavailable due to their engagement.

My boyfriend and best friend were getting engaged, and I found out about it on social media. Carla uploaded a picture of the two of them in an embrace on Instagram, flaunting her ring with a statement that broke my heart.

“You’re the best thing that ever happened to me, Ethan.”

To be continued…..

--

--