Breaking the Chains of a Poverty Mindset

The path to abundance begins with a belief in your own potential

Kimberly Seago
Modern Women

--

Photo by Towfiqu barbhuiya on Unsplash

Financial challenges are a reality for many, and it can have a profound effect on your life. I had a poverty mindset for the first 40 years of my life. It’s a generational curse that I am trying to break, not only for myself but also for my children, my grandchildren and future generations.

Even though I never wanted for anything growing up, I saw the struggle my parents went through to provide. My dad was an over-the-road truck driver and my mom also worked. Dad would be gone for a week, sometimes several weeks at a time. He chose a career that would pay very well but along with that came lots of expenses. He was an owner/operator and had to pay for his fuel and all repairs. Any downtime meant no pay. There never seemed to be any extra money.

I remember one particularly lean season when church members were inviting us to dine with them. Dad grew angry because he didn’t want charity and he refused to attend.

From the onset of adulthood up until just a few years ago, I always lived paycheck to paycheck. I expected that I always would. It just seemed to me that that was a part of adult life. Like others with a poverty mindset, I believed that opportunities were scarce, success was reserved for…

--

--

Kimberly Seago
Modern Women

A single, middle-aged woman reflecting on her life and trying to do better in Act 2. I hope my words inspire or entertain you.