Can I Identify as a Mother?

Everyone is free to pick their labels. Can I be a mother?

Nerdishwrites
Modern Women

--

Photo by Michał Bińkiewicz on Unsplash

By definition, I’m not a mother.

I haven’t given birth nor adopted a child.

Yet, I understand their frustrations. It reflects many of my own.

I know how it feels to have everything on your shoulders. To feel like you’re not doing enough and disappointing your loved ones because you can’t keep it altogether.

I know how it feels to schedule your work or free time while they’re asleep or occupied. To lock yourself in the sanctuary of your bathroom, so you can cry out your tears of frustration.

Sometimes, you love when they dote and rely on you like you’re their entire world. But sometimes, only briefly, you wonder why you’re doing this.

You feel unfit to be a mother. Inexperienced.

I know that feeling all too well. But I can’t call myself a mother. I don’t want others to think I’m undermining the label.

So for now, I call myself a “practising mother”.

What the life of a practising mother looks like

--

--

Nerdishwrites
Modern Women

I weave fictional tales and inspirational non-fiction essays. Always writing from the heart. Support me here: ko-fi.com/nerdishwrites