Decisions about Kindergarten

What are we going to do about Cody?

Shelley Wenger
Modern Women

--

Photo Courtesy of Canva

I just finished my meeting with the two principals. Though I fully expected to come out of the meeting crying (and I wonder where Cody gets it from), I am doing better than I thought.

Cody needs to go to Kindergarten all day long, which means that he will have to go to a different school. Our elementary school does not have enough staff or need for full-day Kindergarten.

The school is making it as easy as possible for us. They will pick him up at our house and bring him home in the evening when school is over. He won’t have to ride a large school bus. Instead, he should be more comfortable in a van with just a few kids.

The new school gave me a choice, though. I mentioned that I was worried about him adjusting to a full-day of school, and they wanted to meet with me about my options. On a case-by-case basis, they allow certain children a transition into full-day. We can go for part-time for a few weeks until he gets ready.

Though I don’t know if I will take advantage of this, it makes me feel good that they really want every child to succeed. They really think about the children and care about how they do. What more could you want from a school?

--

--

Shelley Wenger
Modern Women

Shelley is a busy mom. She and her family live on a small farm in Pa, filled with farm animals. She also works as a vet tech, as well as freelance writing.