Finding My Zen on the Wall: The Unexpected Link Between Rock Climbing and Writing

How a Physical Challenge Became My Path to Inner Peace and Productivity

Amy Barlowe
Modern Women
5 min readJun 9, 2024

--

Photo by x ) on Unsplash

The world fades away. It’s just me, the rock, and the next move. My mind is laser-focused, every muscle engaged. A beautiful, intense kind of peace washes over me. It’s the opposite of my usual whirlwind — being a mom, a lawyer, and a self-proclaimed productivity enthusiast.

But somehow, this physical challenge, this climb, unlocks something within me. It’s like a mental reset, a clearing of the mind. That’s where the magic happens, the connection between climbing and my writing becomes clear. This physical challenge allows me to tap into a well of creativity and focus, a well that overflows into my writing. And let me tell you, that creative energy makes me a better writer, a more productive person overall.

Conquering the Fear

I remember this one climb. It was brutal, a real test of strength and resolve. The overhang was so steep, it felt like I was clinging to the side of a building. My muscles burned, my fingers screamed in protest, and doubt crept in, whispering its insidious suggestions. But I pushed through, summoning every ounce of strength and determination I possessed. I conquered that climb, and the feeling of accomplishment was exhilarating, a sense of pure triumph.

That same day, however, I was grappling with a writing block. The words wouldn’t come, my ideas seemed to have vanished. But then I thought about the climb, about the fear, the challenge, and the ultimate victory. It dawned on me: overcoming obstacles in climbing is much like writing. You have to keep pushing forward, even when the path feels difficult and the journey seems endless. That climb unlocked something within me, and I finished the article in a burst of creative energy, fueled by the memory of my triumph. It’s a constant reminder for me: both climbing and writing are about pushing our limits, finding solutions to problems, and most importantly, celebrating the victories, big and small, along the way.

Photo by Fabrizio Chiagano on Unsplash

Climbing to Conquer Procrastination

You’re curious about how climbing improves my writing? It’s all about the mental discipline it fosters. Climbing is a masterclass in focus, problem-solving, and pushing boundaries. You’re constantly analyzing the wall, strategizing your next move, and pushing yourself to overcome obstacles. It’s a lot like writing, isn’t it?

The discipline I develop on the wall directly translates into my writing. When I sit down to write, I’m able to focus better, be more intentional with my time, and avoid distractions. No more getting sidetracked by the endless stream of notifications on my phone or letting procrastination creep in. It’s like conquering that tricky climb — it builds confidence in all areas of my life. Moreover, the goal-setting aspect of climbing has positively impacted my writing. When I set goals for my next climb — whether it’s getting that new route or mastering a specific technique — it helps me set realistic goals for my writing. I’m better at breaking down large tasks into smaller, manageable ones, making the whole process feel less daunting. It’s all about taking those small steps, conquering challenges, and celebrating progress along the way!

Climbing to Calm

Rock climbing isn’t a magic stress cure, but it’s definitely helped me find a healthy way to manage the daily ups and downs. Sometimes work, kids, and the endless to-do list leave me feeling utterly overwhelmed. My brain feels like it’s running on overdrive, and I can’t seem to turn it off. That’s when I head to the climbing gym.

It’s my escape, a chance to disconnect from the noise and focus solely on the moment. You know that feeling of being completely engrossed in something? The world melts away, and you’re fully present in the here and now. That’s what climbing does for me. It’s like meditation in motion, clearing my mind and bringing a sense of peace. This calming effect spills over into my writing, allowing me to approach it with a fresh perspective and clarity. Isn’t it amazing how a physical challenge can unlock mental stillness?

Photo by RepentAnd SeekChristJesus on Unsplash

A Family Affair

Bill, my amazing husband, is my biggest supporter when it comes to my climbing adventures. He understands that my time on the wall is more than just conquering routes — it’s about finding my inner peace, my zen. He truly gets it. You see, Bill has his own passion: restoring classic cars. It’s his escape, his way to dive deep into a challenge that demands focus and dedication. It’s similar to my climbing, but with more grease and less chalk.

We both crave those moments of intense focus, the satisfaction of overcoming obstacles, and the joy of mastering a skill. Our hobbies are a reflection of our commitment to each other and to living a balanced life. It’s beautiful, wouldn’t you agree? The support we give each other, our shared understanding of pushing our limits, and the way our hobbies bring us closer — it all makes for a richer, more fulfilling family life. It’s like climbing that wall knowing someone is always there to catch me, celebrate my victories, and help me dust off the chalk when I come down. And that, my friends, is a truly special gift.

The Climb to a Better You

There you have it. Rock climbing isn’t just about scaling mountains. It’s a path to mental and physical strength, a gateway to mindfulness, and surprisingly, a catalyst for creative flow.

I’ve found that it even makes me a better writer! This is my journey, but it’s a reminder that we all have something unique that can bring us balance and fulfillment. What’s your passion? What challenging hobby unlocks your inner peace and supercharges your productivity? Tell me about it in the comments below! Be sure to follow me for more stories about life, family, and the unexpected ways we find our zen in the midst of it all.

--

--

Amy Barlowe
Modern Women

Joyful mom of three, loving wife, productivity guru, and mindset writer. Embracing life's adventures!