First Pill For Postpartum Depression Approved!

The exciting development in science for women

LaChelle Amaral
Modern Women
4 min readDec 22, 2023

--

Photo by Claudia Wolff on Unsplash

I’m so excited to write about the ultimate cross over of my most favorite niches, new discoveries in science and motherhood.

This year, I committed to being done having kids. After a 20 year battle with endometriosis, struggles with infertility, miscarriage, perinatal depression, and severe postpartum anxiety–and three sons– it was time for this beat up organ to get out of my body. I had a Total Hysterectomy at the beginning of June 2023, it felt like the whole world was my oyster. Finally, I wouldn’t be ruled by my hormones and pain.

Diabolically, right AFTER my struggles finally concluded, in August 2023, the FDA approved the very first pill for Postpartum Depression. The joy I feel for the women of the future is unmatched, but the pain I feel for my past self won’t go away! Arg! Regardless, the significance of this new drug, Zuranolone, is that it is only taken for two weeks and can be taken in the comfort of your own home. Previously, any treatment for postpartum depression was done intravenously in hospital. This is so big.

If you haven’t heard, Postpartum Depression (PPD) is a mood disorder that can affect women after giving birth. It’s usually feelings of deep sadness, anxiety, and exhaustion. For me, I cried and puked for the first four days after two of my kids. I felt like I was in the throes of grief, the huge drop in the hormones that your body produces to get that baby out of you make you feel like you’ve lost yourself in sadness. I was so alone, scared and sad, and in so much pain–especially after my first child. I very luckily felt better around five months postpartum.

The availability of a dedicated medication for PPD addresses several critical aspects for women:

Firstly, we should all be well-versed in the “hyst-ory” (lol), of how women have been treated regarding our mental well-being and anything involved with our invisible symptoms. A pill for PPD is a good start for recognition of the distinct and serious condition. Recognition will hopefully lead to reduction in stigma and better understanding of the postpartum period in general. Also, having a specific drug may also encourage more women to seek help and treatment that would otherwise just suffer through their “4th trimesters” and beyond.

Timely and effective treatment for postpartum depression can contribute to a faster (and real) recovery for the mother, not just physically healing. After my first baby, I was so traumatized and mentally unwell that I did not seek out the medical care that I needed, I’d have done anything to stay out of that hospital. I’m still not exactly ready to write about how badly my first labor went. It was such a bad experience, and I was so alone, that I didn’t return to the Emergency Department when I desperately needed to–I was risking my own life at one point. I believe that something like a take-home prescription for PPD could have saved me from months of anxiety over needing more medical attention.

Though I’d prefer to stay on the topic of the mother’s well-being, faster and more effective recovery for the mother also impacts the mother-infant relationship. A mother who is mentally and emotionally well is better able to bond with her baby, fostering a healthier and more supportive environment for the child’s development.

Besides the obvious enhancement of quality of life, these pills will probably have long term positive effects. By having a specific drug for PPD, there is the potential to reduce the risk of persistent depressive symptoms and their associated impact on the woman’s mental health for the rest of her journey into motherhood.

The drug could also be a support for partners, if your family is anything like mine, everyone seems to rely completely on me. Without me, it’s just monkeys throwing toys at my poor hungry husband (ha ha!)

Jokes aside, without my mental well-being, my family suffers along with me.

So, having a drug specifically designed for postpartum depression signifies a crucial step in recognizing, understanding, and addressing the unique challenges faced by women during the postpartum period. It offers hope for improved mental health, better maternal-infant outcomes, and a more supportive environment for families.

This drug is a huge milestone in the realm of women’s healthcare considering the historical context, societal attitudes toward motherhood, and the big changes we’ve seen in the medical approaches to mental health issues. I’m so excited to see this development!

-LaChelle

--

--