Freedom or responsibility: What will you choose?

The choice I made as a mother

Shanjitha
Modern Women
3 min readDec 2, 2023

--

Choosing between freedom and responsibility was a big deal for me when I was at a career crossroads post-maternity. There were a few options. Each one had its own pros and cons.

Photo by Fuu J on Unsplash

The job offers I had were all appealing because they promised stable 9-to-5 hours with the occasional 24-hour duty and a good income. It looked like a safe plan: end the workday, delegate tasks to other people, and go home without having to deal with calls or tasks that needed to be done after duty hours. The idea gave me a taste of freedom.

The question that kept popping in my mind was, “Will I be able to spend good time with my baby?”

On the other side was the thought of having my own clinic. But this could mean a lot of hard work and taking huge responsibility.

Not only would I have to heal people, but I would also have to manage staff, keep an eye on the drug store, and ensure quality control. That was a big responsibility, and gaining my patient’s trust would be more important and even harder than making money.

Working for a well-known entity ensures a steady income from day one with an already established inflow of patients.

Moving into private practice, on the other hand, requires you to slowly build up a patient base, and being financially stable happens later after a lot of hard work.

Even though having a steady income was important, I felt confused about choosing between taking on the stress of running a clinic and having more freedom by doing a less difficult job. It was even harder to make a career choice when you were a mother.

I was jumping between this and that, likewise, when I realized what freedom truly meant to me. It is the one that is aligned with my values.

Photo by Luis Villasmil on Unsplash

For me, it is the freedom of choice. I want the freedom to choose my style. I want the freedom to choose my time. This was the better freedom in my eyes.

Most importantly, self-practice gives me the precious commodity of time. The freedom to make my own schedule, allowing me to balance work obligations with special moments as a mother, was called to me. Even though it meant more responsibility and extra work, I chose to start my private practice.

I am admitting the truth here: It is hard like hell, and that too with a baby. I get depressed and doubtful often. It is not a cakewalk. But, there is a but.

Being not bound to a fixed schedule, I find it possible to make time to be with my child more often. Also, without the pressure to see more patients in a limited time, I feel that I can give better attention to my patients. This in turn fosters a trusted bond with them and the number keeps growing.

The decision transcended choosing between freedom and responsibility to finding out how taking responsibility for yourself truly paves the way to your freedom.

The caveat here is that you feel liberated only when you take responsibility in a way that aligns with your values.

I value the connection with my child and the connection with my patients. Thus, I chose the path that gets me what I want, however hard it might be.

What is one area of your life that you want more freedom in? Are you ready to take responsibility for that?

Share your story and follow for more.

--

--

Shanjitha
Modern Women

I write about creativity, self-management, books, and motherhood. I am a doctor, certified CBT practitioner and a writer. Contact me: thelivelystories@gmail.com