Relationship Culture

Frenchmen Are Flirtatious, It’s True!

Tricks of flirtatious Frenchmen that I find annoying but laughable

Chingmay Anaïs Jo
Modern Women
Published in
5 min readAug 13, 2024

--

Anecdotes about flirtatious Frenchmen in France
Image Provided by Freepik

Dear Non-Members, please click here to read this story.

My younger daughter has a swollen face and terrible rashes all over her body from an unknown allergy since yesterday.

Her face reminded me of having an episode of an allergic reaction to an anti-wrinkle cream I bought when I was living in France in my early 30s. My face became so swollen that my eyes became very small, looking extremely Chinese in the eyes of Westerners (I am Chinese by ethnicity). I was in great discomfort and went to see a dermatologist. Upon entering the dermatologist’s office, he addressed me as “mademoiselle” with a flirtatious tone. I couldn’t believe that even with my looks like that, Frenchmen would still flirt. I told him to address me as “madame,” but he said single women are always addressed as “mademoiselles” in France. He continued his flirtations while questioning my allergy. I had to tell him I was not in the mood for that kind of attitude.

Frenchmen flirt everywhere and at any moment; that was my experience in France. Once, I went to France Telecom to cancel my phone line because I was leaving France, and the man who handled my request while…

--

--

Chingmay Anaïs Jo
Modern Women

I am a multicultural and multilingual woman who writes about all kinds of topics that touch my heart and stimulate my brain. Humor is my big passion.