How I Knew He Was The One

The music gave him away

Amy Anazodo
Modern Women
2 min readApr 25, 2024

--

Image by Samson Balogun from Unsplash

It wasn’t the song, neither was it the artist. It didn’t matter if it was one of my favourite songs. It was the way he sang it.

Eyes closed, head swaying, fingers snapping to the rhythm of the music.

It felt like someone in a different realm, in a world of his own, immersed in the sweet melody of his favourite tune, oblivious of his surrounding. He didn’t care what others would think of him.

In that instant, I knew I had met the one.

My friends made jest of me about my taste in men. They wondered why I always fell in love with “softies, men who were strongly in touch with their feminine side. To them, men with such traits hardly command respect.

I didn’t understand what they meant and I didn’t care to. I am a lover of RnB, soft, serenading music that brings out the feminine, mushy side of me and as much as I would love my man, the love of my life to be strong, charismatic, well-built, assertive, firm, respectful…, I still craved someone who loved my genre of music. It mattered a whole lot.

So on this day, hubby (boyfriend then) and I attended a wedding anniversary party of a close friend of his. Just as the party was winding down, the DJ switched to some good old RnB to allow give them some lovey-dovey moment on the dance floor. Holding hands, they danced whilst singing along to the song.

And then this song “Anyone by Justin Bieber” started playing.

I watched keenly as my boyfriend sang his heart out. He wasn’t beside as he had wandered off for a brief moment to have some chat with another guest. But I watched him from afar as he sang passionately, dramatizing every line with his face like his life depended on every word. It was breathtakingly beautiful.

When he eventually opened his eyes, our eyes locked for some seconds and he gave me that boyish smile. Whoosh! This boy is mine. I have met my lover boy, the man of my dreams.

This is my first piece on Modern Women and I’m grateful for this prompt because it just brought back some nostalgic memories.

--

--

Amy Anazodo
Modern Women

I am an embodiment of life-changing stories. Welcome to my safe space; a place of fun, reliving good old memories, and unburdening of heart.