Spain & Portugal: A Macramé Tale

Vanesha
Modern Women
Published in
4 min readAug 30, 2023

In the ever-evolving landscape of a digital nomad’s life, balance is key. Amidst the flux of new cultures and the constant hum of technology, it’s essential to find an anchor. This anchor can come in the form of a disciplined routine, encompassing a nutritious diet and regular exercise, ensuring the body stays as agile as the mind. (Read the story of how I maintain a healthy lifestyle while being a Digital Nomad in Barcelona here). Yet, it’s the intertwining of passion that truly enriches this lifestyle. For one such wanderer, macramé isn’t just a craft; it’s a lifeline.

Photo by rocknwool on Unsplash

After the digital hustle of my day job winds down, a different kind of rhythm takes over my evenings. Amidst the soft glow of ambient lights, I transition from tech to texture, hosting intimate macramé workshops. This isn’t just a side hustle for me; it’s a heartfelt passion. With each knot and pattern, I not only teach an age-old art but also share a piece of my soul. These workshops, held after office hours, are my sanctuary — a tactile escape where I connect, create, and inspire. It’s here, in this dance of threads, that my true passion unfolds.

Woven artistry: a macramé piece that speaks to the soul

The transformation from being an IT nomad by the serene beaches of Mauritius to an ambassador of the ancient art of macramé in the heart of Europe has been nothing short of a dream. My journey, punctuated with knots, threads, and passion, tells the tale of how two worlds can beautifully collide.

Lisbon: Where Past Meets Present

Stepping into Lisbon, I was welcomed by the historic district of Alfama. It’s here that I conducted my first European macramé workshop. Set in a quaint courtyard overlooking the Tagus River, the vibrant azulejos — traditional ceramic tiles — painted a stunning backdrop. The hum of Fado music, combined with laughter and camaraderie, turned the workshop into an artistic fiesta. Amidst the melodies and the patterns, a sense of community was born, proving that art has the power to bridge cultural divides.

Photo by Blaire Harmon on Unsplash

Málaga: Where Colors Speak

Málaga, known for its Andalusian charm, offered a different but equally mesmerizing setting. I chose a serene plaza shadowed by fragrant orange trees, close to the towering Alcazaba fortress. The soft notes of distant Flamenco guitars filled the air as attendees knotted and wove, infusing their creations with the soul of the city. An artist, renowned for his depictions of Málaga’s streets, brought colors into his macramé design, inspiring others to weave their personal tales into their creations.

Photo by Jesper Brouwers on Unsplash

Barcelona: Rhythms and Rooftops

The Catalan heartland of Barcelona added a vibrant touch to my journey. Overlooking the city, attendees and I immersed ourselves in crafting macramé designs that seemed to dance with the city’s energetic pulse. Each knot tied, every pattern created, reflected Barcelona’s diverse artistic palette.

As days turned into memories, and threads wove into intricate designs, a realization dawned upon me. This journey wasn’t just about teaching a craft; it was about connecting souls. With every city, every workshop, it was evident that art can be both a bridge and a mirror, reflecting shared dreams and aspirations.

In the end, whether it’s a code running in the digital realm or a thread taking form in the physical world, it’s passion that drives creation. And as I traveled, taught, and learned, the message I hoped to share was clear: In life’s intricate dance, every twist and turn can lead to a beautiful design. All one needs is a bit of passion and the courage to take that first step.

Thank you for joining me on this journey. Until next time, keep weaving your dreams.

Knot just a clutch: it’s macramé elegance in every thread
Knot just a clutch: it’s macramé elegance in every thread

--

--

Vanesha
Modern Women

Navigating tech trends by day, world adventures by night! Dive into Vanesha's digital journeys where bytes meet wanderlust. 🌍💻