Women’s History Month | Genealogy | Empowerment | Mental Health

I Am A Woman is a Complete Sentence.

The melting pot of adjectives and identifiers should no longer define us

jules - Miz Mindful
Modern Women
Published in
9 min readMar 12, 2024

--

Image created by the author jules - Miz Mindful with Canva Pro

I am a woman.

A complete sentence. A statement of who I am. It allows me the freedom and permission to feel the power of equal inclusion with the diversities and individuality of all women.

As we add adjectives and identifiers to the sentence, the separation begins. When we use race, age, relationship status, economics, and other group labels, they become unspoken barriers and bias within the circles we are supposed to be advocating for.

That’s the way it’s been for me, anyway.

I began looking at the power of the words we use and often say to ourselves. It boils down to the definitions we attach to the words that guide our reactions and responses.

Those become our actions. It can become automatic. When we forget it is our actions, not just our words, that empower, uplift and support others, especially women, we unconsciously build small roadblocks to the changes we are striving for.

For example, when you read, I am a woman is a complete sentence. What were your first thoughts? Did…

--

--

jules - Miz Mindful
Modern Women

Juggler of words as Miz Mindful -- editor Creations Over Coffee, artist, writer, Mindset Coach, Owner Mindful Expressions, Canvassador, - but call me jules!