I Feel Guilty for My Inadequate Parenting

And I don’t really have a solution for it

Megan Llorente
Modern Women
Published in
2 min readDec 10, 2021

--

Photo by Mathilde Langevin on Unsplash

I think deep down I know I’m doing a good job as a new mom. And especially when I look at the bigger picture of all the things I juggle in life.

Yet I can’t shake this nagging feeling of guilt that I’m not doing enough.

If my daughter had it her way, I would be her playmate at all hours of the day.

If my partner had it his way, I would be this superstar preschool teacher and our almost 3-year-old daughter would already be reading and writing.

If society had it their way, I would be this amazing children’s healthy chef and only allow my daughter to watch a minimal amount of cartoons on TV.

My reality:

  • I can’t play for more than 10 minutes straight without trying to find a distraction because it’s just not for me
  • I’m not motivated to sit and do teaching time with my little girl because let’s face it, does she really need that yet?
  • I pull together quick meals for my daughter and do the best I can to convince her to eat vegetables, but sometimes I just give up
  • I do let her watch cartoons, definitely a lot more than I should, but I just need a freaking break — every day as it…

--

--

Megan Llorente
Modern Women

Love is the answer ❤️ Certified Coach, Children’s Books Author, Avid Entrepreneur. Creator of 2 Pubs: Modern Women & MIDFORM. Find me @ Meganllorente.com