I Thought I Would be Married With Kids At 30. I’m Now 36 And Single

Is it as depressing as it sounds?

Adulting in your 30s
Modern Women

--

Image: AI-generated using Bing Image Creator | Owned by the author as per Image Creator ToC

Okay, but it’s not as depressing as it sounds.

I’m actually loving my life, and I can’t imagine my life if I would have a 6 year old now.

Do I say this with bitterness?

Not at all.

I distinctively remember being 25 and sitting at a bar with my girlfriends, pondering my future. This was when I still believed the “correct” way to do life is good school -> good job -> marriage -> home ownership -> parenthood. This is what growing up in and Asian household in America has instilled in me, and up until then, I never thought to question it.

Anyway, back to my future planning.

My parents had me when they were 27. I had thought maybe by 25 I would have had a stable relationship, someone I’d want to build a family with. But, times are different now, so perhaps it’s fine that I don’t. But, I still have time. Let’s say by 30 I would have my first kid. A bit late but not too bad.

And that means I still five years to find someone, get married, and have a kid. Seems doable.

Five years is a long time. A lot could happen.

--

--

Adulting in your 30s
Modern Women

Musings and self reflections of a 30 something who feels like an adult but a kid at the same time