I’m a Feminist, But Don’t Believe the Future is Female

I hope it’s balance.

Rhiannon James
Modern Women

--

Illustration of balancing scales with one foot stomping on one side which has the weight of the world, the other side has coins.
Illustration by Rhiannon James

Learning how to fit in (as a feminine presenting person)

My friends all nodded in agreement, as they folded the paper.

They too felt it.

I was 12 years old, sitting in a field with my girlfriends and had just voiced my first observation about society - a piece of writing born out of the frustration of Primary school politics.

I was questioning the unspoken hierarchy of popularity. What made some people more ‘popular’ than others?

And of course, by popular, we all know I don’t mean most likeable.

I’d observed, at the tender age of 12, that you didn’t become a popular girl unless popular boys liked you. They called the shots.

For me, popular really meant most physically attractive to boys.

To be a popular boy however, the requirements seemed you were to be the most extraverted, outspoken, and confident of the boys.

Not the smartest, nicest, or even the most athletic.

You just had to be dominant.

How you look is your currency

--

--

Rhiannon James
Modern Women

Kiwi artist, feeling, drawing and writing about personal drama. Changing the world, starting with me. I drew a book! https://ko-fi.com/s/98db524e8c