In 2024, Let’s DO Stuff in Our Professional Lives and Be Noticed

Getting noticed in your company is easy. But it’s also a subtle, intuitive choice of moments. And using your doing and brain muscles.

Desiree Driesenaar
Modern Women

--

Picture by Bee Wild in Night Cafe.

Luckily, I always worked in companies where DOING was bigger than pushing to get noticed. Apart from my first corporate.

When I started my career at age 21 at Dow Chemical, my boss told me:

“It doesn’t matter what you do in life, Desiree, it matters what your boss thinks that you do.”

This is the killer of companies, organizations, and economies. And I left in 1991 to work for big SMEs ever since.

My second company had 300 employees. A real Amsterdam company.

More than 100 years old. Family-owned.

The CEO was a family member (financial director) who was with the founders of Budget Rent-a-Car before he came back to the family business. He was clever. He had solid financial asset strategies with as little debt as possible.

He never hired people with a university background. “Useless people,” he always said. “Not practical enough and way too slow”.

--

--