Influencers Are Romanticizing the SAHM Experience, but the Reality Is Too Different.

So, how do you decide if being a stay-at-home mom is for you?

Sushmita Singh
Modern Women

--

Photo by Andriyko Podilnyk on Unsplash

A few decades back, almost everyone was a stay-at-home mom. If it was so good, things wouldn’t have taken such a drastic turn. But it did.

So many women and men fought for women to have rights to work, to have an account, to own property, to inherit and keep father’s/ husband’s property, to adopt, to just live.

I grew up with a stay-at-home mom and, in fact, I want to be one someday, but that’s because I know I can do that. I have the support to do that.

If you had asked me a few years back, I would have laughed in your face. All this education, and so many lessons from my mum on financial independence and you want me to waste all this?

In fact, if I had been married to a different guy, or I was with a different family, I would still be persistent in my views. My views changed because

1) I have something I can rely on for continuous income for 4 to 5 years, even if I quit my job.

2) I have a loving, caring, supportive husband and family.

But most women don’t have that.

--

--

Sushmita Singh
Modern Women

Writer || Coder || Book Lover. Helping you evolve into the ultimate version of yourself. https://sushmitasingh.carrd.co/