It’s Hard to Forgive My Self for Being a Depressed Mother

Mood disorders take a toll on motherhood, but the guilt is undeserved

Martha Manning, Ph.D.
Modern Women

--

Photo by Isaac Quesada on Unsplash

Daughter, mother, grandmother

I just signed off from a Face Time session with my daughter and my six-month-old granddaughter, Maxine. They live in Sweden, and the only time I saw her, in person, was a few days after birth when she was being prepped for open heart surgery. The rest of my relationship with the “girls” is through the miracle of the internet.

My granddaughter has to be the sunniest child I’ve ever seen. Granted, one of the downer aspects of being a clinical child therapist is that most of my patients aren’t even marginally happy. So, it’s not really a fair comparison.

Even with early challenges from surgery and resulting feeding problems, she is resilient and joyous — matched by my daughter who struggled to get pregnant, stay pregnant and get through a high-risk delivery.

Because of my history of depression and my daughter’s adolescent brushes with anxiety and depression, I monitored her pregnancy like a hawk, steeling myself for the emergence of postpartum depression, which can begin even in pregnancy.

--

--

Martha Manning, Ph.D.
Modern Women

Dr. Martha Manning is a writer and clinical psychologist, author of Undercurrents and Chasing Grace. Depression sufferer. Mother. Growing older under protest.