Keeping Your Friendship With Your Male Best Friend When He’s in A Relationship

When your male best friend got a girlfriend

Avrantsa's Note
Modern Women
3 min readAug 17, 2022

--

Photo by Wasa Crispbread on Unsplash

Growing up, I am someone who is a tomboy and has an inclining interest in masculine things. For the most part, I am just interested in many things. In addition to being a highly observant person, I understand that men and women are psychologically different. I have always known how to position myself in women’s and men’s friendships.

For example, when my female best friend is having a problem. I usually just listen to them and try to side with her. They do not need a solution to their problem. Since they are strong and smart enough to solve it by themselves. Women usually just want some emotional support, a person they can rely upon during difficult times.

In contrast, men have a different approach. When they talk to you about a certain problem, they usually want a solution to it. Sometimes, they will give you the option of actions they should do in facing their problems. At this time, it’s important to stay objective and truthfully say your point of view and ways regarding matters.

On to my topic, of course, I have a female best friend, but I also have some male best friend who stays in touch with me from time to time.

But here’s the thing, at one point in my life, my male best friend got himself a girlfriend.

How should I position myself as his best friend?

These are some things I do when my male best friend got a girlfriend.

Introduce Yourself to His Girlfriend

My best friend usually told his girlfriend that he has a female best friend to avoid misunderstanding. Later, I will talk or meet up with my best friend and his girlfriend.

Being genuine is important. I always express my happiness that my best friend finally found a partner who loves and supports him. I also try to know her personality. Then, ask about her activities, her careers, and her hobbies. Even better, I try to be her friend too. It will never hurt you to have more friends right?

Bring Someone Else When You Want to Meet Your Best Friend

After spending long years of friendship with your best friend, you will probably want to meet him to talk about life in general. If this happens, you can bring another friend or sibling to hang out with you and his girlfriend. Therefore you will not be a third wheel. If they are having a romantic moment, you can flee with your friend to another place, or have a conversation with your friend. This also minimizes the jealousy of his girlfriend.

Buy Couple Gifts or Food for Your Best friend

Your best friend’s birthday is coming up. You want to provide him with a present. This one is tricky because you do not want to compete with his girlfriend which one gives him the best present. If this happens, I just buy a simple couple’s gift for both. Or, I just buy him loads of food for him to share with his girlfriend. Therefore, the girlfriend will get my present too, and my best friend will know that I care about him.

Reversal

These things are not applicable if his current girlfriend is highly possessive. This has happened before, and I simply do not meet him at all and only chat with him to check on him. Always remember that you will get a partner someday, so you would not like it if your partner has a clingy best friend that create tension in your relationship.

Do you have a similar experience with me? I would love to hear your stories. Kindly give claps and comments regarding my story.

Avrantsa is a 20s lady who recently started writing on Medium. Currently, she still exploring different niche on her writings. Her hobbies include reading books (fiction and non-fiction), watching Korean drama and movies, playing guitar, editing videos, and cooking.

You can support her by following her and giving honest and genuine feedback on her stories.

--

--