Lessons Unlearned: Changing the Feminist Message

During a moment of mindless scrolling, I ran across an article claiming Gen Z and Millennial women are blaming feminism for their lack of a fulfilling life.

Kristina Etter
Modern Women
Published in
10 min readDec 28, 2023

--

I read the entire article, honestly and genuinely interested in the perspective, I think we can learn from our children if we take the time to listen. Although I thought it was a poorly written piece, I wouldn’t have even considered a response until I hit the last line… “But now, thanks to Persling’s bravery, more women will wake up.”

Sigh.

Really? Wake up to what? Repeating our grandmothers’ mistakes because we’re too naive to learn from the past?

Who wrote such an inflammatory statement in a journalistic setting? Even I, as a blogger, think that’s incredibly unprofessional, and as a writer, I’m shocked that someone got paid to write this nonsense.

As I read this woman’s words, it saddens me that she has no concept of what women before her endured so she could have a voice at all. Somewhere along the line, she was denied a valuable lesson. We’ve failed to educate her about the suffrage that came long before her.

--

--

Kristina Etter
Modern Women

Co-Founder and Publisher @ CannabisTech.com | Freelance Creator @ Kristina-Etter.com | Soon-to-Be *Traveling* Content Creator | Corporate America Refugee