Let’s Bust the Myth: Female Friendships Are Rock-Solid

A discovery I made in later years

Hima
Modern Women
3 min readMay 30, 2024

--

Photo by Katarzyna Grabowska on Unsplash

Did you know Sismance is a thing?

Everyone has heard of the term “Bromance, but what about Sismance?

For the unversed, Sismance is a word, yet leading dictionaries don’t recognize it, at least not yet.

I wonder why!

For times immemorial, women have been pitted against each other; if stereotypes are to be believed, women are often competitive and envious of each other, and their bonds don’t go as deep as those of men — that’s far from the truth.

Take it from me, who has always had more male friends than females.

From Tomboy to Sisterhood

Growing up, I felt more affinity with boys, whether friends or cousins.

While the girls around me played with dolls and showed sophisticated mannerisms, I’d be out and about, either playing adventure games or getting into fights with boys.

It felt organic being around men like I was one of them, and the feeling stayed even when I evolved into a woman.

What changed?

Somewhere along the way, profound transformation catches up to us, and epiphanies strike us after epiphanies.

As I was initiated into my spiritual growth through painful life lessons and chaos, the ladies in my life kept me afloat in the ocean of death and rebirth.

Without them, I’d have drowned.

Cherishing our Female Buddies

  1. No one gets us as they do:

How many times have we been labelled oversensitive or a drama queen?

Rarely by another woman, because we get each other.

The truth is women have depth and emotional intelligence. Unfortunately, these gifts aren’t as common among men.

We encounter similar life experiences and challenges, which means our lady friends often understand us better than our male friends.

Cry to your female bestie, and she’ll know exactly what to say to console your anxious heart.

I’ve seen female friends transform into older sisters, offering guidance and care during our most vulnerable moments. Isn’t that a blessing?

2. Sisterhood is forever; things don’t have to change with them

Some friendships evolve and lose their essence over time, especially if they are with someone from the opposite gender — a sad reality.

However, it doesn’t have to be this way with ladies.

Even if your female bestie gets married and has kids, it wouldn’t change the very core of your bond. You can still share your darkest secrets with her, go out on coffee dates, travel together, and have slumber parties.

Let me ask you a question:

Who would you feel more comfortable calling in the middle of the night during an emotional breakdown — your married male best friend or female best friend?

3. They’re our tribe

The innate desire to belong is gender-neutral — it’s what makes us human.

We all seek our tribe; a safe space that offers support and acceptance, and that’s exactly what our “girl gang” does.

Having a solid group of ladies to fall back on makes us feel courageous enough to take on the world.

No one has ever won a battle alone. Hold on to your ladies for this roller coaster called life.

4. They expand our awareness and network

Planning on your first solo international trip or struggling with an acne breakout? No worries, our ladies have got our back

Our female friends are like encyclopedias of expertise on any issue you face. Just ask, and they’ll know who to direct you to.

Thanks to my gals, I’ve been fortunate to connect with many inspiring and interesting women, whom I’ve learnt a lot from.

Let’s choose each other

In this volatile world, being a woman comes with its unique challenges.

As we grow and claim our space, being supported and encouraged by strong women becomes indispensable.

Let’s seek out more authentic female connections and cherish the ones we’re blessed with.

So, who is that Wonder Woman in your life?

--

--

Hima
Modern Women

Writer || Solo traveller || Tarot Reader || I think profoundly and feel deeply; that's what I write about.. Here' my blog - https://explorative-soul-hima.com/