Modern Women: June Writing Prompts

Let‘s get inspired!

ADEOLA SHEEHY-ADEKALE
Modern Women

--

Image by Sandie Clarke on Unsplash

I’m sorry this month’s prompt is reaching you a little late but I’ve been away and mostly offline, musing away to myself. Last month’s theme of women’s mental health took us all as deep and as vulnerable as I expected, and in all honesty there were so many powerful responses it slowed down our queue a little as we all wanted to give real time and support to every single submission. I hope that has shown in the amazing quality of writing in our pages over the past few weeks.

You can catch up with some of the team’s top picks below…

As for this month…

I watched my son dance recently and as I witnessed him reaching the accumulation of his time at the dance school that has shaped and changed him from young unsure boy to determined and empowered man, I was inspired. Watching him and a handful of others grapple with the pride and exultation mixed with the grief of saying goodbye to a chapter of their lives, I was struck by the transition between being kings of a small pond to stepping forward into a new role as small…

--

--

ADEOLA SHEEHY-ADEKALE
Modern Women

Writing on female experience, race, motherhood & self-development. Columnist at Green Parent magazine & Parenting Top Writer. Follow me on IG @adeola_moonsong.