Modern Women: October Writing Prompts

ADEOLA SHEEHY-ADEKALE
Modern Women
Published in
5 min readOct 3, 2023

--

Let’s get writing!

Image by Abdalla M on Unsplash

The transitional point of September is behind us and now that the adjustments have been made and we are finding our feet in the new normal, let’s take a moment just to check in from the whirlwind and say hi! What a hectic few weeks it has felt like and I’m sure you’ve noticed the increase in amazing new writers and flood of submissions we’ve been publishing. It has been inspiring.

As you know I love a prompt when the words seem to stall or perhaps, I’m feeling less enthusiastic about putting my pen to paper. I’ll be honest, Autumn is my favourite writing season, there is something about this time of year which fuels my creativity, and I could happily spend each and every day with a pen or brush in hand. Maybe I embrace the archetype of the witch or the wild woman of the woods and it’s that vibe which creeps into my work.

Before I say too much about this month’s theme, I’d first like to invite you to show some well-deserved love to the responses for September’s theme of ‘migration’.

Where we find ourselves and the journeys we have taken to arrive there are huge pieces of our identity puzzles and you showed beautiful depths of self-awareness and vulnerability in sharing your stories.

--

--

ADEOLA SHEEHY-ADEKALE
Modern Women

Writing on female experience, race, motherhood & self-development. Columnist at Green Parent magazine & Parenting Top Writer. Follow me on IG @adeola_moonsong.