Learning

Moving to Australia

Learning to be comfortable in places where I stick out like a sore thumb — and a few other reflections.

Mahin
Modern Women

--

Photo by Colin + Meg on Unsplash

Nine years ago, today, I arrived in this beautiful country with a heart full of excitement and a head buzzing with dreams.

No, I did not become a bio-technologist like I thought I would. In fact, I switched career trajectories 4 times. But that’s the great thing about being here —

More options, more choices, more possibilities.

There is so much beauty here.
I saw meteor showers, blood moons, sunsets from hilltops and moon-rises from beaches. I’ve had too many amazing nature trips to count. Times of joy and togetherness with family and friends. Eclectic cuisines, mind-boggling art, interesting people and amazingly delicious coffee. I met the love of my life. Made friends who have become family, and I have had the wonderful opportunity to become friends with my family.

I have learned so much in the past 9 years. I have learned to be comfortable in places where I stick out like a sore thumb. To make meaningful connections with people I have nothing in common with. To better handle conversations about “immigrants ruining Australia”. And about the dark history of this wonderful country I now call home.

I have faced a lot of instances of racially charged verbal abuse and countless angry “go back to where you came from”. So many days I felt like I didn’t belong anywhere and seriously doubted my decision to move to Australia. But for every misguided racist I’ve met, I’ve had the pleasure of meeting at least a handful of kind souls, if not more.

Right now, it might seem like the world is drowning in hate, disease and destruction. But remember, there is so much we all have in common, despite differences in culture and colour. There is more empathy in the world than judgement. More hope than despair.

Things are always getting better, every day. Because we are getting better, every day. We are getting wiser and stronger. We are getting less tolerant of negativity and more geared towards unity. In the worst of times, love and peace is an act of rebellion.

It will get better.

Thank you so much for reading. If my writing resonates with you, you can find more on my Medium profile.

--

--

Mahin
Modern Women

What: Brain dump of creativity. Why: Building a habit.