My Divorce is 6 Months Old. Am I Changing My Mind or Am I Losing It?

How do we make peace with the finality of our decisions or find the courage to change them?

Martha Manning, Ph.D.
Modern Women

--

an older couple at the beach
Photo by Esther Ann on Unsplash

No Confidence

Following my husband's infidelity and desertion, he made it clear that he wanted a divorce. This was a blow to our four-decade marriage and my sense that through it all, we had a pretty good relationship.

In addition to the devastating pain of abandonment was the explosion of my self-confidence. How could I be wrong about so many things? My reaction was all emotion, no cognition.

As I calmed down, with the help of my therapist, I began to explore the contributions to the marriage’s collapse. To me only one thing caused it. He was unfaithful to me. Period.

Men who leave their wives, who substitute with a better model, and who desert their children are lower than pond scum.

Once a fairly decisive person, I now found myself second-guessing everything. Echoes of one of my favorite poetry lines haunted me from T.S. Elliot’s The Love Song of Alfred J. Prufrock:

"Do I dare to eat a peach?”

It became my uncertain mantra. I couldn’t commit to anything. I wouldn’t dare for fear of being…

--

--

Martha Manning, Ph.D.
Modern Women

Dr. Martha Manning is a writer and clinical psychologist, author of Undercurrents and Chasing Grace. Depression sufferer. Mother. Growing older under protest.