My Journey Through Russian Sugar Dating

From Nightclubs to Motherhood and Everything in Between

Zolushka
Modern Women
4 min readJul 23, 2024

--

Visiting Moscow in the Winter of 2019

Growing up in Saint Petersburg, life was anything but glamorous. Our Soviet-style high-rise, about 15 kilometers northwest of the city center, was painted yellow. It was a step up from the original gray, but it still looked dingy. Our two-bedroom apartment was shared with my mom, Elena, and my older brother, Misha, who has special needs.

Even though things were tough, Mom always made sure we were taken care of. She was a high school English teacher and made me practice it since I was little. We’d watch shows and read books in English. “With your looks and language skills, you’ll be our ticket out,” she always said.

After high school, I found myself lost. My relationship with my high school boyfriend ended in disaster, leaving me isolated as he spread humiliating rumors about me. The judgment from my classmates was brutal, making me feel even more alone. I was over dealing with petty drama from people my age, so I decided to try something new and signed up on Zolushka (Cinderella), a site where girls like me could meet wealthy men for fun and gifts. I thought it would be like dating, but with an older guy who’d take care of me with an allowance.

Zolushka wasn’t exactly a fairy tale, and the first dates were awkward and frustrating. Most guys were just wasting time, looking for cheap thrills. It was a bit scary, but I was hooked on the idea of finding something better. Then I met Igor, a promoter who saw potential in me and believed he could help in ways the site couldn’t. He took me under his wing, inviting me to exclusive clubs, penthouse parties, and even boats. I quickly became part of his squad, a group of girls who added sparkle to the events he helped organize.

Igor wasn’t just some promoter looking to fill the place with bodies. He had a knack for picking the right people and was like a mentor, showing me the ropes of this new lifestyle. He connected us with influential people, always making sure I knew I didn’t have to do anything I wasn’t comfortable with. The attention and luxury were addictive. I was out 4–5 nights a week, meeting celebrities, entrepreneurs, and wealthy men who could offer a glimpse into the life I dreamed of.

Beyond the glamour, Igor genuinely cared about us. Whether it was helping one of my friends find her missing Pomeranian or being there when Misha had a seizure and we couldn’t reach my mom, Igor always dropped everything to help. He had our backs, making us feel safe and supported in a world that could easily overwhelm us.

One night that really changed things was when Igor took us to the Imperial, the fanciest club in Saint Petersburg. Walking through the VIP area, I felt like a movie star. The drinks were flowing, and the attention was overwhelming. The VIP section was on a raised platform, separated by a velvet rope, with cocktail waitresses in glittery dresses and models looking like they were on a catwalk. Igor gave me a little baggie of white powder. I was nervous, but I decided to try it. The rush hit me fast, making the night more exciting. I saw famous people, heard different languages, and felt like I was stepping into a world where anything could happen.

That night, I met Andrew. He was different from everyone else — genuine, smart, and really intrigued by me. He was a managing partner at an American venture capital firm investing in Russian startups and was living in Russia at the time. We talked for a long time, bonding over our shared love for travel. Our connection felt real, and when he asked if I was free the next day, I felt like this could be the start of something special. We started dating, and about half a year later, we moved in together during the pandemic.

When his company pulled out of Russia, I thought I’d never see him again. But instead, he proposed. I never imagined I’d be married with kids and living in the U.S. just a few years later, but life has a way of surprising you. These past three years, we’ve traveled the world together. Since having our first baby, I’ve mostly been a stay-at-home mom, taking English classes and discovering my passion for reading and writing.

Looking back, going from the old panel block to glamorous parties and meeting influential people taught me so much about myself. I figured out how to handle complex social scenes, set my boundaries, and use my strengths. Sugar dating wasn’t just about the luxury — it was about finding my worth and figuring out what I really wanted in life.

Now, living in the U.S. with Andrew and our two kids, I think about how much I’ve grown. My story goes from sugar dating in Russia to finding real love, getting married, moving here, and becoming a mom. I really want to share a unique view on a world that people often get wrong. I want to tell my story with respect, compassion, and sensitivity for everyone in it. Through these experiences, I’ve learned a lot, and I hope to show my growth and those lessons in my writing.

--

--

Zolushka
Modern Women

Ex-sugar baby turned stay-at-home mom. Sharing my journey from Russia to life in the U.S. with a sprinkle of fiction. 💖✨