Open Heart

Learning to Love

J.O. Phine
Modern Women
1 min readJan 11, 2024

--

Photo by Leighann Blackwood on Unsplash

He said he loved me
I said it back
It wasn’t until a month later
I realized I lied

Falling in love is almost tragic
I sympathize for my soul
They say we’re two halves of a whole
I hate that with a passion

Love is not blind
It’s got 20/20 vision
So I’ll wait for perfection
Of course I’ll have a choice

Now, I know I was wrong
I should not have held
My head higher than my heart

The closer we are to falling
The farther the drop may seem
Like pain is inevitable

Nothing is flawless
Even love needs to be fed

So I gave him the gift of my heart

Hi, I’m J.O. I write about living a healthy, peaceful, and successful existence amid the constant chaos of life. Follow and subscribe to my newsletter to see more of me. Cheers!✨

--

--