Overcoming Plus-Size Prejudice in Social Interactions

I won’t diminish myself for acknowledgment and respect.

Angela Cook
Modern Women

--

Photo by Good Faces on Unsplash

As a plus-sized woman, I’ve often felt “too big” in social settings. My clothing doesn’t hide my curves, my smile proudly reveals a double chin in photographs, and my shoe choices must always prioritize width, or I’ll be limping home.

But these quirks? I’ve grown accustomed to them, embracing each one with a stride.

It’s the awkward dance of plus-size prejudice, however, that I fall victim to over and over again.

I’ve become quite familiar with the awkward gazes fixated on my lower belly or the thin acquaintance venting to me about their weight convinced they’re somehow “fat” and seeking a bit of extra TLC from yours truly, their unofficial plus-sized therapist.

As an individual rocking a size 14/16, I’ve often experienced people avoiding eye contact when I speak, leaving abruptly in the middle of my conversation, or directing their questions to my male friend, completely ignoring me.

Interestingly, this trend has usually been more prevalent with men than women. However, I’ve experienced it from both parties.

Now before you jump to the “maybe it’s just your personality” argument, ouch, but fair point. It could…

--

--