Redefine It Mom

Story of a modern woman, who define her success in her own way….

Dr. Gayatri Rai
Modern Women
4 min readJun 21, 2023

--

This image is generated by OpenAI Dall-E

Angel is very happy today. She is being honoured for being the rising entrepreneur, star of the year. Today is the event to award the winners.
She is going towards the venue. As venue is far enough, she decides to enjoy the moment and closes her eyes, she seems happy and relaxed. She is in her memories, the day of her convocation, receiving a gold medal and a pledge she had taken to be a successful business woman.

Suddenly her smile disappears.

Car reaches the venue. It’s a star-studded event. She was able to see the personalities which were her ideals. She is happy but smile is not there. Her friends welcome her at the venue and congrats. Its hugs, kisses and bravo moment.

Angel’s eyes are looking for someone. She is looking around in all directions.

Svetlana — Angel, what happened, whom you are searching for?

Angel- you know it (sighs)..

Svetlana- Oh! your mom dad.

Angel- hmmm….

Svetlana- why don’t you solve it once and forever ?

Angel is not replying.

Event is going on its own pace, people are hooting for their loved one, awards are being given, pictures are being clicked. Families and friends are busy on phones as sharing on social media is equally important.

Angel also receives the award, get pictures clicked with colleagues, friends and leaves in hurry.

Angel reaches her parents’ home. Her mom and dad are in the outer lawn and taking a stroll.

Photo by Greta Hoffman from Pexels:

Angel- I was waiting there for you to share this biggest joy of my life. But you never reached. It’s not done dad.

Dad- When you have decided to live the life in your own way, then why you expect us to be there in your planning which was not of our choice ever.

Angel- And what is there which is not of your choice?

Mom- Not getting married and settling down.

Angel- Please define and make me understand this term ‘Settling down”. I have enough time today. And let’s finish this shit for real.

She sits on lawn chair with putting the award carelessly on ground.

Mom- what is there which you don’t understand, it’s not a rocket science, get married, be safe, have kids and settle down. Get a family of your own. That’s it.

Angel- who said that I don’t have a family?

Parents give a confused and angry look to her and make a face showing irritation.

Angel- I have you as family. I have so many friends. I have my pets at home. I have my passion my business and this is what I think is my settling down.

This image Hiis generated by OpenAI Dall-E

Dad- You need a man. You will repent later.

Angel- Repent! Let me repent then, Life should be full of experiences, best way to learn.

Mom- Are you a lesbian??

Angel-(eeeeee) Mom, it’s not about that, please don’t be a stonewall show some sense, I am saying I am so happy, full, satisfied with the life I have created. I don’t see any place or need of anybody here. Why you are not able to see it ?

Angel- This term ’settle down’ is outdated now, especially for us, we the girls. I mean, look around, girls we are doing wonderfully in almost all fields, we are happy, but when the real moment of enjoying the end result of all this hard work comes, society literally push us back to the starting line at the name of settling down.

Angel is in no mood to stop.

Angel- Now It’s my last effort to solve it. I don’t want to spoil the best moments of my life. I will not let it happen. Wake up, give fresh breathing to your brain and come out of this shell. Your daughter is very happy, and she is well settled.

Mom and Dad, looking as if they have just got a shock. Angel is silent now. Nobody speaks. Looks are being shared. After few minutes, Angel picks her award and putting into the lap of her father. She leaves. Complete silent.

Thanks for reading!! If you like this story, you may click on ‘claps’ or ‘comment’. Don’t forget to ‘follow’ me for more exciting stories.

--

--

Dr. Gayatri Rai
Modern Women

I am a born storyteller. After spending so many years in writing stories, scripts, articles and many more ..I am thrilled to explore the world of freelancing