SOLO TRAVELLER

Sarah in My Office Thinks I’m Lonely

Can we agree that spending time alone makes us a more productive member of society?

Hannah Wilkinson
Modern Women
Published in
4 min readJan 30, 2024

--

A woman holding a mirror over her face, standing in a field of flowers
Photo by Noah Buscher on Unsplash

I’m officially campaigning for the word solo to replace alone.

And if that word has already started to conjure up the song, Ridin’ Solo by Jason Derulo then JOIN THE CLUB, I’ve had it in my head for the entirety of writing this piece.

Nevertheless, it’s a burden I feel worth taking on to shift the negativity around the word alone.

In the majority of cases, alone = loneliness.

Alone always comes with a plus one — a plus one that no one wanted at the party.

But why?

Picture this: you’re clocking out of work and bump into a colleague on your way out…

“Any nice weekend plans?”

“Yes! I’m off to Amsterdam for a long weekend.”

“Oh sweet! Who are you going with?”

“Oh, no one, I’m going alone!”

Let’s just take a quick pause to imagine how delightful that sounds.

Blissful mornings, afternoons and evenings basking in one’s own company.

--

--

Hannah Wilkinson
Modern Women

Quit my 9 to 5 in London to travel, rest and write. Old romantic. I’ll pop the kettle on. Substack: https://writingalifewellloved.substack.com