Saying Goodbye… When You’re Still In Love

“Why does everyone just jump to breaking up and no one puts in any fight anymore?” Here’s what I wish I could say to him.

Trinity Wurm
Modern Women

--

Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Well sir, I’ve been fighting for us since day one. I’ve been involved in a divorce and custody battle when I’ve never been married, been considered common-law nor had a child.

I’ve managed the lawyers and paperwork because paper-pushing was my strong suit, and it wasn’t yours… but it was your battle.

It wasn’t mine, technically. It became my battle when I committed myself to you and I have no resentments. I literally fought for our success by helping you get divorced.

No regrets.

I’ve reminded you over and over again that your feelings matter when you flashed back to her telling you that they didn’t. Or when those flashbacks reminded you that she simply railroaded over them.

When you would shut down and go into yourself to protect your heart, I would come in and bring you out again.

Slowly but surely, it became harder and harder to bring your personality out again.

When your son was taken away because of some heinous and false accusations, you went into yourself even more.

--

--

Trinity Wurm
Modern Women

Single, exhausted, yet grateful toddler (x2) mom creating generational wealth and passive income NOW, so that I can spend more time with my babies.