Stop Trying to Check All the (Wrong) Boxes

Interviews are broken

Amélie Morency
Modern Women
2 min readApr 12, 2023

--

Photo by charlesdeluvio on Unsplash

Box-checking never made sense, yet it’s still a big part of many interview processes.

A few weeks ago, I saw a job that really spoke to me and applied after a friend sent it my way.

I suspected the pay would be less than I wanted, but I applied anyway.

I got a phone interview last week with some girl from HR; Not a person who understood what I could do for the organization. Just a lady looking to check boxes.

Guess what?

I didn’t.

I didn’t make it past the phone call stage for the only job I applied for in years because I don’t have a bachelor’s degree and somehow, that’s a horrible thing.🤷‍♀️

I choose to drop out of school to raise money for my startup. I would argue that that makes me a much better candidate for a job where I would be helping startups for a living.

HR processes are long overdue for a change.

People take all sorts of paths to get places, I learned more about building by having a business than I would have by completing any school degree.

I do not regret quitting a single bit.

Degrees aren’t everything.
Please, Change your boxes.

--

--

Amélie Morency
Modern Women

Entrepreneur, Mom & avid runner. I make things work for a living. I write about entrepreneurship, business, running and other random thoughts on here.