Thank you, Mom

Show your mother gratitude and love on your birthday. She deserves it.

Aabha Gopan
Modern Women

--

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

It's my 29th birthday today.

I’m a year older; Hopefully, a year wiser.

Everyone in my family goes all out on birthdays. So grand celebrations are like a tradition.

Usually, my party will commence with cutting a cake, which is followed by popping balloons, playing games, dining together, and having loud conversations.

Everyone brings gifts and either talks about me or to me. I bask in the attention and love they shower. It’s one of the best days of the year and I look forward to it every time.

In 2023, my birthday was rather dull.

I was pregnant and no amount of flattery, fun, or dining could cheer me up. My hormones had gone rogue and I threw up the only bite of cake I had. Summing up, my 28th birthday was awful.

I told myself I’ll make it up in 2024 with a bigger cake.

This year, my birthday started well. I woke up happy despite being sleep-deprived because of my six-month-old’s growth-spurt-driven feeding.

My husband beat everyone to wishing me. He gave me a heart-shaped, hand-written letter saying sweet things. I received calls from my family and friends sending birthday…

--

--

Aabha Gopan
Modern Women

Loving human minds while changing my toddler's diaper.