The Growth Of Finding Myself, Post Relationship

Understanding who I was after my longterm relationship.

Reece Watson
Modern Women
2 min readOct 27, 2023

--

An image of me, pure happiness.

The Beginning Of My Journey

In a lot of situations a woman can feel like they have lost themselves. That can be in many stages of life. Becoming a young woman, becoming a mother, becoming a partner. Standing on your own two feet and being proud of yourself as a woman is hard sometimes.

My Personal Struggle

I would say when I was younger and “becoming a woman” I struggled finding myself especially after being in a long term relationship. I poured myself into another person and gave them all my time and effort. I eventually had none to spare for myself. In your life when you have to “become a woman” it is hard in general. There are lots of societal expectations that women are supposed to meet. Not only are you navigating who you are, but what you are supposed to be. Being a woman in today’s society is hard with social media. There is a constant comparison between yourself and the people you see on social media. Learning that it is ok to be completely you is a journey everyone has to take.

Lost?

When the relationship ended, I was lost. I didn’t know how to be by myself, focus on myself, or didn’t even know what I could do that made me happy. I felt alone, sad, and scared of the journey I would have to go on to find myself.

New Journeys

I slowly started to do new things. I explored more of campus. Joined a sorority. Made new friends and reconnected with my friends I slowly drifted apart from. I even began to grow closer with my family and learned that it was ok to lean on them even though I was an adult. I realized that putting all of yourself into another person doesn’t leave room for self love.

With growth, I have found myself again. I have passion, drive, and energy for myself and even some to give. I am ready to love in a new healthy way.

Image: Taken by a friend, on my iPhone.

#relationship #self #modernwoman

--

--