The Mean Girls That Have Made It Hard to Trust Women over the Years

Sometimes I worry my friends don’t actually like me

Carly Newberg
Modern Women
Published in
8 min readJan 29, 2024

--

Photo by Sasha Matveeva on Unsplash

Trusting all by itself is hard, but when you throw trauma and a long line of unpleasant memories in, trusting becomes even more difficult.

I’ve struggled to trust people most of my life, but especially women. It started in elementary (primary) school when a group of girls started bullying me because I had a crush on a boy someone in their group liked.

I don’t remember the series of events in full, but I do remember having water maliciously poured over all the books in my cubby. I also remember having a rumor started that I was pregnant because I could stick out my belly and do other silly things every kid does at that age.

This all started soon after my parents got a divorce and I was separated from my mother. Without her there, I was adjusting to a new life living with my father and older brother who knew next to nothing about how to care for a young girl.

My grandma tried to help, but I was mostly on my own when it came to doing things like getting myself dressed and doing my own hair. Most days, this meant I wore jeans and a t-shirt with a slicked back bun.

--

--

Carly Newberg
Modern Women

Yoga teacher / freelance writer / mental health advocate writing boldly & bravely about relatable life experiences.