The Shock Of Seeing A Devasted House I Lived In As A Child

Migration and how I felt about it

Dr. Preeti Singh
Modern Women
Published in
6 min readSep 19, 2023

--

Photo by Catherine Kay Greenup on Unsplash

I grew up in a small town called Ranchi in India. It was rather underdeveloped. There were few schools and colleges and sparsely populated.

I was in the best school. It was an Irish Convent called Loreto Convent.

My father was in the agriculture ministry with the Government of India. Officers in those days had many perks and life was cushy.

My father had a good salary and rent those days were cheap. We lived in a huge quaint and beautiful rented home. It was 1 acre which was huge. It had a garden and a big orchard.

My father had been given peons and a driver. They were loyal and trained from British days. They were used to saluting the officers and their families.

I know it sounds so pompous now as these types of conveniences are no longer there but this was all in the past.

You can imagine that I was brought up with a lot of conveniences and a lot of love.

My mother’s sister also joined in Ranchi as her husband was a building contractor. Those days a lot of development and building activity took place.

He was able to get some contracts and by some chance, they were able to take a house…

--

--

Dr. Preeti Singh
Modern Women

Doctorate in Finance, Professor, Author, I write about Life’s experiences, edutech. 9xTop writer.