The Single Woman’s Wedding Gown

A curious wondering of why we can’t go against social norms

Lily Lum
Modern Women

--

Photo by Bulbul Ahmed on Unsplash

I was walking along the seawall with my 10-year-old daughter one day. The sun was shining and it was an 8 km walk along the exterior of a beautiful west coast park surrounded by ocean.

It was a perfect day, we were holding hands as per usual in those days. The conversation was perfectly cute, just like her. So what does a mother talk about with a pretty-in-bubblegum-pink-princess during an 8km walk?

Pretty dresses, wedding dresses, mother-of-the-bride dresses and bridesmaid dresses! Oh… and of course we talk about her future fairytale wedding. Complete with horse and carriage!

We dreamed up everything from the perfect mermaid dress to the over-the-top ball gown needing three delighted helpers to carry the train. We ultimately decided the mermaid dress wasn’t ‘princess’ enough.

Often times our mornings started out with one of her favourite shows; ‘Say Yes to the Dress; a television series about wedding dresses of course.

My daughter would gush over the Cinderella gowns, while I secretly wished for a reason to wear the sparkling champagne sexy slinky wedding gown.

I’m divorced and won’t be getting married again. Once was enough for me. I’m…

--

--

Lily Lum
Modern Women

Mental health advocate, artist, writer and traveller! Please see my NEW Jungle Boutique at LilysJungleBoutique.etsy.com