The Traveler’s Gift: The Worst Required Reading of My Career

Andy Andrews’ 7 decisions in The Traveler’s Gift could lead to a happier life, but only if you can wade through the bad writing, misogyny, and indoctrination.

Hales
Modern Women

--

Image of the cover of the The Traveler’s Gift: Seven Decisions that Determine Personal Success on top of two yellow squares. The additional text reads “The worst Required reading of my career — the traveler’s gift” The traveler’s gift is the worst leadership book that I have been forced to read by a company.
I read 100 books a year, many of which are leadership or self-help books. The Traveler’s Gift is by far the worst leadership book that I have ever read. Image: by author.

The Traveler’s Gift: Seven Decisions that Determine Personal Success by Andy Andrews, is hands down the worst book that a company has ever required me to read.

A lot of the companies that I’ve worked for have a suggested (or required) reading list. Normally, this list is leadership books that fit within the company culture.

While The Traveler’s Gift is marketed as a leadership book, it is Christian propaganda and made-up stories about real historical leaders.

I was young and dumb, newly hired for a new job at a company that bragged about their culture. My previous job included a micro-managing small-business owner with a penchant for making his employees cry between three-hour phone rants.

It was suggested that new employees read The Traveler’s Gift before their first day. I was so excited to be out of my previous toxic environment, that I ignored the red flags from the reading list and dug in with gusto.

--

--

Hales
Modern Women

QA Engineer. Nerd Extraordinaire. Lover of opossums.