There Are Some Things I Don’t Like to Share With My Husband

Sometimes he forgets “happy wife, happy life!”

Ruby Lee
Modern Women

--

Photo by Erik Mclean on Unsplash

Some couples think that being married means that you are one unit, and what’s yours is mine, and what’s mine is yours. That’s ok for them if it works. But I don’t think that couples have to share everything!

I was already in my thirties when I got married. I owned my own home and car and had a career. So, I was used to being independent.

After my husband and I married, it was an adjustment for us both. He gave up his apartment and moved into my house. His work hours changed right after our wedding, and he was transferred to the evening shift. Since I worked days, we never saw each other except on the weekends. That was tough for a newlywed couple.

Since he was home alone during the day, he would move stuff around while I was at work. One night, I couldn’t find the broom. I looked everywhere and couldn’t find it. I couldn’t call him in those days before cell phones, and he would be home long after I was asleep.

It seems ridiculous to get upset over a broom, but when you need one, you need it!

Later he shared with me that he thought it was better to keep it in a new spot but didn’t think to tell me! We had a lot of instances like that. It was…

--

--

Ruby Lee
Modern Women

Mother, Wife, Teacher, Librarian, Teller of Stories. Author of The Marriage Wars by Leeanne Beasley Berry. Top Writer in Parenting, This Happened to Me, Humor