These are the Influencers Advancing the Body Acceptance Movement

Real stomach’s coming back— per Selena Gomez

June Kirri
Modern Women

--

Wikimedia Commons

Recently Selena Gomez created a buzz by posting a Tiktok video of herself in a bathing suit flaunting the rolls on her stomach.

The clip starts with a voice telling her to “Suck it in.”

She responds by lip-syncing a voice, “I’m not sucking anything in. Real stomach’s coming the fuck back, okay?”

This is not the first time. Gomez has retaliated against those who comment about her weight.

In April, she posted another video saying:

I don’t care about my weight. People bitch about my weight anyways. You’re too small, you’re too big, that doesn’t fit…Bitch, I’m perfect the way I am. Moral of the story, bye.

This is cool in so many ways, especially when studies show that 53% of American girls are “unhappy with their bodies” and this grows to 78% by the time they’re seventeen.

With over 48 million followers on Instagram, Selena exudes tremendous influence among her fanbase of young girls. Even when she’s been poked and judged for her fluctuating weight, Selena continues to challenge body norms.

--

--

June Kirri
Modern Women

🇯🇵🇳🇵🇺🇸 in 🇩🇪 | Publisher of Bitchy & The Point of View | Ex- journalist & magazine editor I Feminism, women, & motherhood | https://linktr.ee/junekirri