This absolutely shits me to death — Part 2

Kelly Robinson
Modern Women
Published in
4 min readJun 23, 2022
Pixabay

Shits me to death: Essentially, it is something that annoys (shits me) me immensely (to death).

Please read part one here:

Liars

The inability to tell the truth shits me to death.

You have nothing to remember with the truth because it is the truth; you recall facts.

For example: When my daughter was younger, I would tell her that she would never get in trouble for the truth. I did not care what it was; I would help, so long as it was the truth. If, however, a lie was told, I would be unable to help her in the same way as if she had told me the truth.

So many people feel the need to embellish their conversation as they don't think the truth is enough. Or, if they tell the truth, they will be judged for some perceived expectation.

You are more likely to be judged for a lie than you ever will be for the truth.

If people don’t like you for your truth then they are not worth being in your life. Trying to be something you are not requires far more energy than you realize, and that energy could be better spent elsewhere.

All the effort used to create a false image of yourself could be better spent doing something you love. Writing, growing a business, having personal connections, and more.

Liars shit me to death.

Overnight success

Unfortunately, as we see so many people highlight reels online, it is easy to assume they are an overnight success.

Unless you win the lottery, you are not an overnight success.

Portraying yourself as an overnight success to make yourself look better or make people jealous is just brat behavior. And what does it prove — nothing, you are still not an overnight success.

I’m sure you recall the Instagrammers using a set that looked like a private plane. Too many people used it, and they were all caught out for trying to show they were each on a private plane flight somewhere fancy. Who even cares, right!

Most people who are a success have worked incredibly hard to get there. The musician you see suddenly top of the charts has been working on their craft for their lifetime. You, too, need to put in that level of effort.

Claiming overnight success shits me to death

Get rich quick

We see it here on Medium — I made $2000 last month, one article and bam, $1000. This is how I earn money while I sleep etc., etc.

Unless you win the lottery, there is no such thing as getting rich quick.

Hard work, dedication to your craft, patience, and much more are required to get material wealth.

Having a rich life is much easier, and it has nothing to do with what car you drive.

Remember, life is not all about money — sure, it helps, but it does not make you happy. Many of the wealthiest people all have the same struggles that we do, and their wealth can exacerbate these problems.

Get rich quick schemes shit me to death

Politicians

Across the world, many politicians are only working in their own best interests and using their government position as a cash cow rather than serving the public. Government employees are called public servants for a reason.

They all seem to forget they are actually on their wages because of the taxpayer. (I am in Australia)

We have had politicians who believe they are so much more intelligent than their people and have lied daily. How can they be so stuck in their bubble that this is ok? And how can their co-workers allow this to happen when they all sign an oath to the people of their country.

In Australia, we have recently had a change of government, and I have fingers crossed that there will be improvements and, hopefully, the addition of an integrity commission.

All governments must gain a broad cross-section of people to represent their people better. They all need to be accountable to their communities and remember why they have the job in the first place.

Many politicians shit me to death.

So, I’m sure you get the idea; what shits you to death? Let me know in the comments.

Join Medium for unlimited reading or to earn money writing

If you enjoy reading my content, consider subscribing to my feed or becoming a paid member.

And if you are a coffee lover, why not, shout me one too.

Thanks, Kelly

PS: If you loved this article, you could clap up to 50 times :)

--

--

Kelly Robinson
Modern Women

Top Writer. I am passionate about small business, mental health, and much more. I hope you enjoy what I have to share.