Career in Tech Stories

Transitioning from IT Consulting to Education Tech

why I made the pivot 6 months ago & what I’ve learned

Meiraf Dawit
Modern Women
Published in
3 min readOct 26, 2023

--

Photo by Christina @ wocintechchat.com on Unsplash

My first “big-girl” career in tech started at an IT Consulting company, and had no clue what I got myself into.

I was so excited to find a job in tech right out of college that I took the first offer presented to me, and did not (embarrassingly enough) do my due diligence in looking for an industry that aligned with my passions.

After my first 3 months of on-the-job training about the technology we’ll be using, I was placed onto a client project and expected to:

  • Navigate conversations with people in a much higher pay-grade
  • Complete tasks I had no idea how to do
  • Understand the technology I JUST learned and be able to translate it into layman terms for others

All while meeting my end-of-year goals set for me by my manager. It was….enlightening, to say the least.

Why I made the pivot:

Although I was gaining invaluable project experience, I could care less about the industries (Manufacturing and Insurance) my clients were…

--

--

Meiraf Dawit
Modern Women

Woman in Tech. Avid Reader. Forever student. Sharing stories about Career Reflection, resources, & tips to enter a Career in Tech 🌟