Uncover Me: Freeing Becky

A tale about a girl, her hair and the hijab that stands between them.

Salma F
Modern Women

--

Photo by Alexander Krivitskiy on Unsplash

When I first thought about draping a hijab over my head I felt sick and panicky. This was a huge decision that was for the rest of my life. Looking back on it I wasn’t really ready for the commitment. The way I see it, wearing a hijab everyday is a sacred covenant with Allah. And breaking that covenant? The consequences of which I shudder to even think about…

The Quran instructs us about a woman’s dressing habits saying that she should cover herself so as to not be sexually alluring to other men besides her husband. My husband has specifically asked me not to wear shorts or tank tops while out in public and I respect his wishes, but wearing a hijab? That was my own choice.

Being a brand new Muslim, I wanted to be the best Muslim I could be. I wanted to follow the laws of the Quran and immediately fit right in. In my typical, neurodivergent fashion, I rushed into my brand new life with full forced, blind enthusiasm. I only realized after I made the commitment to wear a covering, what wearing the hijab really entails.

The self-image that I have spent a lifetime carefully constructing is more fragile than I had thought. It has all but come crumbling down since I started wearing a hijab. I feel stripped of…

--

--

Salma F
Modern Women

Muslim Revert. Sharing stories of a modern Muslim life and womanhood. Podcast: MidWestern Muslim. For business inquiries: salmafoudeh3@gmail.com