Motherhood

When is the Best Time For a Woman to Have a Child?

Earlier is better than late, but being parents is never too late

Chingmay Anaïs Jo
Modern Women
Published in
3 min readMay 7, 2024

--

It’s better to have children when we are young if we can.
My two daughters

My answer to my title question is that the earlier, the better, right after college or even before. I know it sounds shocking, but I have my reasons.

I myself gave birth late in my life after I had done all the crazy things and found a lot of passion in different things. I delivered my first girl after 3 hours of labor at the age of 40 and the second girl after 30 minutes of labor at the age of 44. They were all natural births without complications. My recovery was nice and normal. I have a nice husband who doesn’t like parenting but loves his children and spends lots of his free time with them.

I shouldn’t have anything to complain about or wish to have done differently because life is quite perfect as it is. Perfect? Is that the right word? I have immense daily frustrations, not about raising my two rather well-behaved girls, but about not being able to do what I want to do. I don’t get a moment of tranquility to focus on my own projects, whether they are for pleasure or for earning a needed extra income.

As soon as I see a peaceful moment when both girls seem to be focused on their own things, I tend to naively think that it could…

--

--

Chingmay Anaïs Jo
Modern Women

I am a multicultural and multilingual woman who writes about all kinds of topics that touch my heart and stimulate my brain. Humor is my big passion.