Yes, Men Also Have A Hard Time Saying No

It isn’t just women who have this problem

Ruby Lee
Modern Women

--

Photo by Connor Olson on Unsplash

Why do some people have a hard time saying no?

It seems that many people have a hard time saying no whether they are a woman or a man.

No is such a short and simple word but it’s a hard word to say. Once it is said, some people refuse to accept it as the “final answer.” There may be attempts to persuade the person to change their mind. There may be anger directed at the person who said no. No matter who you are and why, saying no is hard.

Recently, I wrote a story about how women have a hard time saying no. I expressed my opinion that in our society women are taught to say yes instead of no, so that they would not come across as mean or rude. Often women who say no and don’t have a problem standing up for themselves are perceived as not “ladylike” or may be called a “bitch.”

After my article was published, I received many messages from men who informed me that they also have a problem saying no. After I thought about it, I realized that they are right. Ater all, my own husband rarely tells me no. It’s aggravating because he will say yes and then not do what he said yes to.

When I ask him why, he will say things like, “I forgot!

--

--

Ruby Lee
Modern Women

Mother, Wife, Teacher, Librarian, Teller of Stories. Author of The Marriage Wars by Leeanne Beasley Berry. Top Writer in Parenting, This Happened to Me, Humor