Your Relationship Is Dying Because You Don't Sort Your Socks

Love is protected with small gestures.

Gaby Rogut
Modern Women

--

A woman stands behind the open door of a dryer with an annoyed expression on her face.
Image by StockSnap in Pixabay

I used to do a load of laundry every day. You know, to avoid the brutal accumulation of dirty clothes.

If you are like me, you hate it. I mean, laundry is the worst household chore: you have to sort the clothes, take them to the washer, then transfer them to the dryer, then sort them again, fold them, take them to their place…

Exhausting!

But, as much as I despised doing the laundry, there was only one thing I loathed even more: socks' day.

Don't get me wrong. I have nothing against socks. They were not the problem. The issue, of course, was my then-husband.

What truly matters.

Here's the thing: I would grab the socks and, before putting them in the washer, I had to separate them because my husband liked to wear double socks, especially in winter. He said he was comfier that way.

I have nothing against comfort.

The problem came when, upon removing the socks from his feet, he forgot to separate them. So there I was, separating them one by one because I knew they wouldn't get clean otherwise. Also, the inner sock wouldn't always get dry.

--

--

Gaby Rogut
Modern Women

Jack of too many trades. Mom to a son. Former teacher. Bi. Autistic. Mexicana. Need some feedback? Hire me! https://ko-fi.com/gabyrogut/commissions