You’re not a bad mom

and you’re probably selling yourself short.

Meagan Martignoni
Modern Women
2 min readJan 3, 2022

--

Image via AM Woods on Instagram

In the first few weeks post partum I felt really disconnected from reality and from my baby. I was sore, cranky, needy, needed, and frankly did not want to help my infant. (Don’t worry, I did it and had tons of help.)

I just felt emotionally drained by being constantly needed by this tiny potato.

I think the real issue for me though, besides post partum anxiety, was how everyone said how much they loved their baby. Everyone would do anything for their kiddo. They would stop a bullet for their little one.

I didn’t really feel that at first.

Instead what I found was, it took time for me to get to know my baby’s personality. I had to grow to love him the way you would with any other person.

This truly surprised me. “Where was my instant connection?” I always thought.

Now with a lovely toddler, well as lovely as a toddler can be, we are thriving. I love my baby so much!

The point is, being a new mom is hard and expecting to instantly love a brand new human is so much pressure. Having other people expect you to love your child from literally before birth is hard. Especially if you are a first time mom and don’t know what to expect or feel.

Its okay to need time to really get to know your new child. To bond and connect, to learn the ins and outs of a person. You both deserve real unconditional love.

--

--

Meagan Martignoni
Modern Women

Just writing for a hobby but I’m also an artist! Check out my stuff on YouTube and Society6