Leaving Broken Hip Rehab After Five Weeks

Brien Lee
ModernGeezer
Published in
2 min readMar 18, 2024

Leg still hurts but I can walk Outta Here (with a walker)

The Author in His Rehab Home Away from Home

After falling and breaking my hip in a sleet storm five weeks ago, I’m going home.

Well not exactly home. I will stay at my sister's where there is very little in the way of stairs, unlike my house, which has the front stairs, 3 stories of interior stairs, and back stairs. Stairs, stairs, stairs.

During rehab, I learned to walk with a walker, since my right leg has severe pain from the break. I am told it is healing and the pain will (eventually) go away. I also learned to walk up and down stairs using a four-pronged cane and one handrail (lead with the good leg). I used various exercise cycles and steppers and proved my balance with a medicine ball game of catch.

All of which is to say that the facility considers me a candidate for release and that date is tomorrow. I am excited and pleased.

I want to be able to sit on my sister’s front porch and smoke a cigar.

That to me is Nirvana. I will be visited by my son and eventually by my significant other, even if no later than my son’s marriage in May.

So things are looking up, and the five-week exercise in patience and pain has led to these first steps toward freedom!

--

--

Brien Lee
ModernGeezer

75-year-old writer/video producer diagnosed with myelofibrosis. Bone marrow transplant 2021. 38 yrs sober. Slide/video pro. Inquiry email: brienlee@brienlee.com